The Drums – The Future

The more I listen to this band, the more I dig it. However, I’m still on the fence and one young YouTuber describes my feelings towards them perfectly: “I still can’t make my mind up on The Drums – I quite like the music but they seem like cunts.” Precisely. This four piece from Brooklyn are signed to a UK label and have made it quite big over on that side of the pond but haven’t quite been able to break into North America yet, as far as I can tell.

They have been described as “possibly one of the most enjoyable live outfits around,” and the lead singer is said to have a “Morrissey/Ian Curtis stage presence,” which is intriguing to say the least. He sounds like he’s putting on a bit of a fake English accent sometimes though, especially in the song ‘Best Friend’, which is hilarious.

This is a live version of the song because posting the recorded versions in a blog is prohibited by the record label. Lame. However it’s a video of the first time they ever played this song live in concert, which is pretty cool!

This entry was posted in indie, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

