Phantogram – Mouthful of Diamonds

I don’t feel like writing today. I have to go have a shower. BUT here’s my friend Mark, talking about his new favorite band Phantogram:

Hello all,

My name is Mark, and I am here today to talk to you about Phantogram, the latest in indie-mod electro synth pop whose lead singer has nice bangs and a voice that sounds exactly like the chick from The Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Phantogram is not, unfortunately, my favorite music right now. I would be lying to you if I told you it was. What I’m really into right now is Witch House.

Witch House sounds a little like what might happen if the movie The Blair Witch Project were made into a song. It’s fairly depressing and employs a lot synthesizers. It’s the kind of music that’s ideal for listening to when either A) You’re really down in the dumps but sort of want to dance, or B) Have recently acquired a large supply of muscle relaxers. It’s also very idea for these long, gloomy West Coast of Canada winters (though I would like to make it very clear here that I am not from Canada).

I love Witch House. I’m listening to the song “Light Speed” right now by the band Modern Witch. It’s mostly just a sad-sounding girl repeating the lyric over and over: “You’re not afraid to be a teenager.”

I don’t know exactly who this song is targeted at. I don’t know many people out there who were afraid to be teenagers. If fact, I don’t really know what being afraid to of being a teenager would entail, save possibly having to deal with the stresses of forgetting your gym locker combination or feeling ashamed about skipping a football game on Friday night to go to a chess club meeting.

If you like Mark’s writing, be sure to check out his blog!

This entry was posted in indie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

