The Bees – Winter Rose

Known in North America as The Band of Bees, this group have been a favorite of mine since the day I first heard “I Love You” in 2004, a wonderful 1960’s R&B crooner that I’m still hoping someone will sing to me someday. They’ve been around since 2001 and it’s a damn shame they’re not more well known. Their swoonful take on the psychedelic folk and the garage rock sound from the 60s has made it impossible to nail them down to one genre, as they’re also influenced by tropical beats, country, jazz, and reggae, and each song is different. With it’s gentle drum beats and guitar twangs, the most notable influence of this head-bopping jam, released on their late 2010 album Every Step’s A Yes, is reggae. It’s making me feel pretty groovy. I suddenly feel guilty I haven’t listened to them in years – they don’t deserve it! They have reclaimed permanent status on my radar as of today (at least for the time being) and I can’t wait to give the rest of the album a listen.

This entry was posted in indie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

