James Blake – Whilhelm Scream

It’s taken a while for me to wrap my head around James Blake. When I first started hearing his name being thrown around by lots of online mediums, I decided to check out what all the fuss was about. What I found was… well, underwhelming. He has a great voice, there’s no denying that, but I don’t get all the strange sound effects. Is it electro, or is it soul? Is this a love ballad or is it about to take off into a techno frenzy? However, it’s impossible to avoid James Blake right now. He’s everywhere!

And after this song being thrown in my face eighty times, guess what happened? Today, unprompted, it showed up in my head. I HAD to listen to it. His slow, dubious electro-based ballads have been creating a big stir in the indie scene for quite some time and I’m still not really sure if I dig it, but the song sure is catchy. Once that melodic chorus is in your head, there’s no denying it.

It gets a big weird at the end, which I’m not sure about. And that beginning noise.. is it fireworks? Is it someone making popcorn? Is it the sound of a highschool basketball team dribbling by? Many have described his music as dubstep but based on this song, James Blake is just a modern day Brian McKnight.

Your thoughts?

This entry was posted in indie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

