The Drums – Let’s Go Surfing

Okay I know everyone has heard this song a million times but I started listening to it again over the weekend and can’t get it out of my head! To quote one Youtuber: “I still can’t make my mind up on The Drums – I quite like the music but they seem like cunts.” Precisely. This four piece from Brooklyn are signed to a UK label and have made it quite big over on that side of the pond but haven’t quite been able to break into North America yet, as far as I can tell.

This track, from their Summertime EP released in 2009, miraculously join the dots between “Sixties diner jukeboxes, dog-eared early Eighties new wave cassette comps, and late Eighties synth-punk coming-of-age movie soundtracks.” What is great about this group is that the best is yet to come and I have high hopes about their next release. Until then, we’ll keep enjoying their first feel good single, “Let’s Go Surfing”. It’s actually really making me want to go surfing.

This entry was posted in indie, surfer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

