Lana Del Rey – National Anthem

Ok so many of you already know this but for those who don’t: I have a strong distaste for Lana Del Rey.

The undeserving hype, the collagen lip injections, the fact that she seemingly can’t string a decent sentence together but still has everyone fooled… the whole facade drives me nuts. Her label probably had a board meeting and someone said “So, Adele is doing really well. Let’s find one of those!” I guess they couldn’t find any supreme, Adele-esque talent so they set forth to find a pretty girl with a mediocre voice that they could transform through the use of killer stylists and fab production. She’s even being marketed as “the Gangsta Nancy Sinatra,” for Christ sake. Who came up with that? Despite all of this, “Video Games” was one of the biggest songs and vids of 2011 and her forthcoming album is being hyped nonstop. Also, if I haven’t said enough to sway you to the dark side, she is apparently brutal live and was ripped apart online for her recent string of ‘terrible’ live shows in NYC. Rolling Stone’s favourable description of her performance as “shaky and inconsistent” is the understatement of the century, I’m sure.

Anyways, in deep contrast to what I have written above, I am a lover, not a fighter. It is very uncharacteristic of me to post complaints about an artist on this platform (I don’t think I’ve ever done it, in fact) so you must all be wondering why, right? Well, it has happened, folks. I feared this day would come.

She actually released a song I don’t hate.

(Gasp.)

“National Anthem” is a beat heavy jam from LDR’s forthcoming sophomore album Born to Die and has a lot more to it than her first two singles, appealing to my pop-tastic side. The lyrics aren’t great but I don’t hate it! It has piqued my interest but I guess we’ll just have to wait and make an informed judgement on this lady when we hear the album as a whole next month. Thank god for great producers though, am I right!?

Lana Del Rey – National Anthem

She is silly.

This entry was posted in Pop. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lana Del Rey – National Anthem

  1. jenny says:

    Right after I published this, I yawned and split my lip open in TWO places. Is karma getting me for being mean to LDR?! Come on, she had it coming…

  2. Alec Ross says:

    Glad to see you’re a lil bit on the darkside now. http://27.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lsrwghCCEl1qcxd3uo1_cover.jpg shows the amount of surgery she has had.

  3. Pingback: Lana Del Rey – Blue Jeans (RAC Remix) | jennyssongoftheday

Leave a Reply

