Germany Germany – Departure/Disconnect

Germany Germany

Victoria’s favourite bedroom artist Germany Germany is back at it with a two track release entitled “Departure/Disconnect.” Germany Germany is the moniker of Uvic student Drew Harris, the artist I first introduced you to with this little ditty last summer. Harris is fresh from a six month hiatus that was taken after the release of his debut LP Adventures last May and an extensive Euro tour last summer. He describes it here: “I realized that it was time for a break. I never intended for this project to take over my life the way it did. After trying to make some more music and ultimately failing, I announced my indefinite hiatus from music. I had never felt so relieved in my life. I built an electronic light installation and spent more time with my friends. Thankfully, as time wore on I felt more and more inclined to create, and that is what I’ve done. I feel different, maybe a little wiser and a little more mature.”

These songs are a taste of what is to come: a full length LP set to be released this year entitled Blank Mind Empty Heart. These two are mellower than what we are used to hearing from Harris and he said we should expect that from the whole album, except for “a few bangers” to liven things up. I really love these two tracks, especially “Disconnect” with vocals from his friend and previous collaborator Steffaloo. Grab the tracks below or check out his Bandcamp page and website for more information.

Germany Germany – Departure

Germany Germany – Disconnect ft. Steffaloo

While Germany Germany was on hiatus, he created a short, 15 minute arrangement of songs under the moniker Cecelia Spectrum, which you can find right here.

This entry was posted in Chillwave, electronic, electropop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

